Athletics


Coach Info
Name Phone Email Team Name City State
Club Jay Clarke Asheville Rowing Club (Masters) Asheville NC
Position
Primary Position Coxswain
Physical Attributes
Bench Press (max) Wingspan Years rowing
- - 3
Rowing Honors

SELECTED RACE RESULTS

The following are a selection of Regional, National and World Championship regattas. Boats are Asheville Rowing Club unless otherwise indicated:

*2019 FISA World Rowing Masters Championships *
* 2nd in Mens B8+ (Argentina/USA composite)
* 2nd in Womens D4+ (USA)
* 2nd in Womens D8+ (USA)
* 3rd in Womens C4+ (USA)
* 5th in Mens B4+ (Argentina/USA composite)
* 5th in Mens D8+ (Denmark)

2019 Sarasota Invitational Regatta
* 1st in Mixed 4+ (Hollywood/Miami)
* 2nd in Womens 4+ (Hollywood)
* 5th in Womens 8+

*2018 Head of the Hooch *
* 2nd in Mixed 4+ >50 (3rd in all masters age categories out of 15 boats)

2018 US Rowing SE Masters Regional Championships
* 1st in Womens 8+
* 2nd in Mixed Family 2x (with Ted Nash)

2018 Sarasota Invitational Regatta
* 1st in Mens 8+ (Composite boat had former Olympians and National team members)
* 4th in Womens 8+

2017 US Rowing Masters Nationals
(at 12 years old)
* 5th in Mens Open D4+
* 5th in Mixed F-J 4+
* 5th in Mens F-J 8+
* 5th in Mens E-J 8+
* 6th in Mens F 4+

TRAINING

9th Seat Coxswain Leadership Camp -_ University of Washington_ // Mary Whipple

9th Seat Coxswain Clinic -Orlando // Mary Whipple & Katelin Guregian

Sarasota Crew Summer Camp // Caitlynn Crouch

Augusta Rowing Club - Coxswain Clinic // Brielle Stark (former Coxswain @ Cambridge University)

I also have two private coxswain coaches who help me prepare for races and review my race recordings:

  • Brielle Stark - formerly of Cambridge University

  • Katie Apfelbaum - formerly of Oxford University

Rowing Additional

My experience is as Masters coxswain and therefore I am on a different path than other potential recruits. Though my experience is different, it is still great experience that has provided me unique and challenging opportunities to cox regionally, nationally and internationally. I have coxed and trained with former national and Olympic team members from the USA, Argentina, Cuba, Spain, Bulgaria and Denmark.

Strengths
* Currently at 14 years old I have 3 years of coxing experience and over 50 races under my belt.
* I am excellent at remaining calm and in control in high pressure situations:
* -backing an 8+ into a stake boat in 22mph winds and keeping my point - no problem!
* -clashing oars in a head race when overtaking a boat that refused to yield then winning the race and the other team’s protest – check!
* -jumping into an 8+ of former national team members and not completely embarrass myself -yep (whew)!
* -deftly avoiding a near t-bone situation when the boat in the next lane lost their skeg and right-turned into our lane (and going on to win gold) - really!!
* _-I am quick on my feet, self-motivated and eager to seek out coaching from a variety of sources _

Considerations
(because I believe in transparency, honesty and clear communication)
* My race experience includes 1k sprints and 5k head races only. No 2ks
* The experience I have coxing rowers my own age has only been at camps and clinics
* I am having double hip surgery to repair hip labral tears after a car accident so will be taking time off the water from June-Dec 2019 at which time I'll be back to 100%. (I will be working with my private coxswain coaches on race recording analysis and other topics to continue my learning and take advantage of my time off the water).

This might be a good time to remind you of my 4.313 GPA and plethora of academic achievements!

Academics


GPA
SAT Reading
SAT Writing
SAT Math
SAT Score (Composite)
ACT Score (Composite)
High School
T C Roberson High School
School City
Asheville
School State
NC
Guidance Counselor
Melanie Parham
Guidance Counselor Phone
Guidance Counselor Email
Class Size
358
School Size
1432
TOEFL Score
Class Rank
5
School Division
-
Major Category
Arts - Visual and Performing
Major
Art/Art Studies, General
Major Category
Arts - Visual and Performing
Major
Art History, Criticism and Conservation
Major Category
Arts - Visual and Performing
Major
Fine Arts and Art Studies, Other
Other Academic Information
**I took my SATs in 7th grade at 12 years old as part of the Duke TIP application process. I scored a 1270 (700 writing / 570 math) which put me in the top 1% of my peers nationally** Will graduate with 13-14 honors and 8-9 AP courses with a total possible weighted GPA of 4.62 MENSA member Duke TIP member & Summer Studies Participant. National Jr Honors Society 2015-2018 National Senior Beta Club - Inducted 2019 National Arts Honors Society - inducted 2018 9th Grade Academic Excellence Awards in English (honors), History (honors) & Earth Sciences (honors). 2018 - Middle School Art Award 2017 NC State Champion - Creative Writing 2017 NC State Finalist - Speech & Debate 2018 NC State Silver Medalist - Sculpture 2019 NC Jr Classical League - Gold Medalist (pencil drawing) & Silver Medalist (oil paint)
College coaches can sign up or login to see athletes' full profiles. It’s free and easy!

Personal


First Name
Kate
Last Name
Stryker
Address
City
State
Zip
Country
Province
Email
Phone
Athlete's Mother
Athlete's Father
Gender
F
Height
5'4"
Weight
95
Birthdate
NCAA Clearinghouse ID
Personal Highlights
-
Additional Questions:
Why do you want to be recruited to play sports in college?

I get so much out of being part of a team. It is said that people will work harder and do more for other people than they do for themselves...I think that's true...I would do anything for my teammates and I love working together to achieve a shared goal and support each other both in and out of the boat. I believe my coxing experience will be an asset to a college team and I know that rowing in college would help me get a lot more out of my college experience.

Athletes are often leaders on and off the field. Please provide one example of how you have demonstrated leadership in both areas.

I am working with my city government to identify opportunities for community beautification, raise funds and assemble volunteers to create works of art in areas that could use a lift.

Please explain how you pursue "healthy athletic performance" as a student-athlete.

Balance is key. The trifecta of good health is:
* good sleep habits
* good eating and hydration habits
* getting exercise (cardio, strength and flexibility)

Being scrunched up in a coxswain seat or isometrically applying outward pressure with my legs to steady myself in a bow-loader can be hard on the body so I balance that out with yoga. This has an added benefit of calming the mind which with a busy rowing schedule and rigorous academic load can be very necessary!

Please describe how you are involved in service in your community and why these efforts are important to you.

I work with schools and companies to beautify their spaces with murals and other artistic touches.

Show more
College coaches can sign up or login to see athletes' full profiles. It’s free and easy!

Blog Posts


This athlete has not provided any recent blog posts. Check back soon!