Athletics


Coach Info
Name Phone Email Team Name City State
Club Chicago Rowing Foundation - Chicago -
Position
Primary Position Starboard
Secondary Positions Prt
distance erg
500m 2km 5km 6km 10km HMAR MAR
Best Time (mm:ss.s) - 6:56.4 - - - - -
Physical Attributes
Bench Press (max) Wingspan Years rowing
225 78 1
Rowing Additional

I am a multi sport athlete including rowing, golf, soccer and have played for many teams including high school, club and travel.

I just started rowing as a Novice Mid January and I am excited to row with the varsity team. I have only been on the water five times and will row in whatever position is needed.

I am excited to row in college with a school that has a strong rowing team as well as strong academics.

Academics


GPA
SAT Reading
SAT Writing
SAT Math
SAT Score (Composite)
ACT Score (Composite)
High School
Hinsdale Central High School
School City
Hinsdale
School State
IL
Guidance Counselor
Renate Koziol
Guidance Counselor Phone
Guidance Counselor Email
Class Size
700
School Size
2500
TOEFL Score
Class Rank
-
School Division
West Suburban Conference
Major Category
Business Mgmt and Admin. Services
Major
Accounting
Major Category
Mathematics
Major
Analysis and Functional Analysis
Major Category
Undecided
Major
Undecided
Other Academic Information
Primary interest is Math, Science and Technology
College coaches can sign up or login to see athletes' full profiles. It’s free and easy!

Personal


First Name
John Patrick
Last Name
McClear
Address
City
State
Zip
Country
Province
Email
Phone
Athlete's Mother
Athlete's Father
Gender
M
Height
6'5"
Weight
195
Birthdate
NCAA Clearinghouse ID
Personal Highlights

Looking forward to rowing at a collegiate level with a school with strong academics.
I am also looking forward to working with a strong team and coach.
I follow directions well. I am a team player. I am competitive and enjoy winning.

Additional Questions:
Why do you want to be recruited to play sports in college?

I love to compete. I love sports. I want to be on a team and make friends who are like minded as it relates to sports and teamwork.

I enjoy having a coach and mentor. I look forward to keeping in touch with the programs and support the teams after I graduate.

I enjoy traveling and new experiences. I want to continue to challenge myself in sports to be the best athlete I can be.

I enjoy it when our team is able to support others in our community who are not as fortunate.

Athletes are often leaders on and off the field. Please provide one example of how you have demonstrated leadership in both areas.

I am a rule follower and take sports and schooling seriously.

I am lead by example.

Most of my friends are older and are sophomore in college and are D1 athletes.

My school high school friends are diverse and many are second generation or third generation from other countries. I enjoy learning new culture and spending time with their families.

Please explain how you pursue "healthy athletic performance" as a student-athlete.

One of my favorite experiences outside of rowing is TPS as they focused on nutrition and how to gain muscle and strength through working out, lifting, cardio and nutrition.

I try to eat a lot of low fat protein, vegetables and drink a lot of water. I try to avoid sugar and carbs.

I stay away from the parties and people who like to party. I do not have interest or time for this.

When I have free time, I enjoy hanging out with friends and playing a variety of sports including pickle, paddle, tennis, basketball and going out to eat.

I try to focus on a healthy mind and healthy body.

Please describe how you are involved in service in your community and why these efforts are important to you.

I supported the Chicago Rowing Foundation in their fundraising efforts including raising money to purchase new boats and also raising money for Black Life's Matter.

My mom does a lot of fundraising for organizations such as Misericordia. My mom volunteers as a co-chair and committee chairs for large annual fundraising events raising over $1 million.
The money raised support organizations that provide services for children and adults with disabilities. She has been volunteering and serves on boards for a variety of organizations. I try to help her when I have time.

I have an older sister with Autism who is none verbal. I enjoy hanging out with her and taking care of her when she is not in school. I enjoy trying to teach her new words on her Ipad devise.

I volunteered at a therapeutic riding center that supports children and adults with disabilities.

My family travel abroad to Kenya when I was 12 years old. One of my favorite activities was visiting schools and villages. It made me appreciate how fortunate we are in America. Their huts were small and they traveled great distances to feed their goats and cows. They also moved along with the season. Our family brought the school children supplies and soccer balls. It was great to see their smiles and to witness how appreciated they are for simple things. I enjoyed playing soccer with the natives in Kenya. I appreciated their soccer skills and playing with bare feet on a rocky, uneven surface. Even though they have very little, they seemed very happy. It was my favorite vacation.

Show more
College coaches can sign up or login to see athletes' full profiles. It’s free and easy!

Blog Posts


This athlete has not provided any recent blog posts. Check back soon!